Introducing The Hoffman List

I’ll say it loud and proud: I love Dustin Hoffman. The man’s a prince among men; in acting, he’s one of the greatest that ever lived. He makes even terrible movies watchable, and he makes good movies great. He plays every character as if it’s the most important one of his career, and he always brings up his supporting cast.

I enjoy watching his movies so much that I’ve decided on a mission: Watch every movie ever to feature Dustin Hoffman, however obscure or ridiculous, and write about it here.

And because I’m a glutton for punishment I have a thirst for good acting, I’m going to include another Hoffman into the list: None other than Phillip Seymour Hoffman.

PSH and DH are in very similar positions as actors, though at very different times in their careers; they’re both considered wildly talented but are often forgotten when people talk about the best actors of their respective generations.

And hey, you know what? I decided I wanted to open this list up to actors not named Hoffman. So the first honorary inductee into the Hoffman list will be: Ewan McGregor.

Does that seem wrong to you somehow?

Well it shouldn’t; McGregor is one of the world’s most underrated movie stars. He’s the only actor who didn’t have to earn my love back after the Star Wars prequels (Natalie Portman did it with V for Vendetta, Liam Neeson did it with Kinsey, and Samuel L. Jackson did it by continuing to be a BAMF in all situations). He made Angels and Demons acceptable. He’s been in some of the best forgotten movies of the last two decades (Trainspotting, Big Fish, Stay, The Ghost Writer). He even made me not hate Moulin Rouge (briefly).

So I start this list with three: Dustin Hoffman, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and honorary inductee Ewan McGregor. Follow along, there may be some surprises in store.

Posted on January 28, 2012, in Reviews, The Hoffman List, Words and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Well I look forward to see what you write about Hoffman! I have seen him in his earlier performances, which were great! If you haven’t, watch Straw Dogs.

  2. Now I know what your dream four-way would be like.

  1. Pingback: THE HOFFMAN LIST: BIG FISH, MR. MAGORIUM’S WONDER EMPORIUM, MARY AND MAX « Person Absurd – Christian Hagen's Unprofessional Blog

  2. Pingback: 2012 OSCAR SEASON PREVIEW: THEYEAR OF EVERYTHING | THIS! the Podcast

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

